"Knowledge is the Elixir of Life" Emblem

Co-Educational Institution, Affiliated to SPU Mandi and HPU Shimla,
Accredited by NAAC, Ministry of HRD Govt. of India

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

Literary Society

Literary Society

Literary Society has been constituted in the college where Departments of English, Hindi and Sanskrit conduct various activities ranging from regular seminars, presentations by the students and functions on the birth anniversaries of famous writers and authors.

The Department of English commemorated Wiliam Shakespeare's birth anniversary in April. The students enacted the scenes from the prescribed text "As You Like It." The students shared the bookmarks with famous quotes creatively made by them.

The Department of English organized "A Two-Days Seminar on May 15-16, 2017. Professor V.P. Sharma, (Retd. Professor from HPU) was the Chief Guest and Shri Manoj Kumar, Assistant Professor, Govt. College Sunni were invited as the speaker. The post-graduate students presented their papers on various topics related to their curriculum. Professor, V.P. Sharma encouraged the students to develop the close reading of the text and Shri Manoj Kumar emphasized on four skills of the language-Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing. Dr.JaneshKapoor, Head of the Department, talked about the text and its reading and touched upon the nuances of literature.

It also organized a seminar on Remembering Rabindranath Tagore: a Noble Laureate during the session 2020-21. Dr. Leela Dhar Assistant Professor who was also an incharge of Literary society welcomed the Chief guest. Dr. Gulshan Mahajan, the then principal-in-charge, who inspired the students and explained the significance of Guru Rabindra Nath Tagore in our life. Students took active part in presenting their topics in the seminar.

Recently, for the session of 2021-22, the department conducted a lecture on Kalidas in which Dr. Birbal Singh, Assistant Professor, was the prominent speaker. He threw light on Kalidas and made the students familiar with his significant role in Indian drama.

Committee Members

Name Designation
Dr. Kulbhushan Sharma (Assistant Professor - English) Coordinator/In-charge