"Knowledge is the Elixir of Life" Emblem

Co-Educational Institution, Affiliated to SPU Mandi and HPU Shimla,
Accredited by NAAC, Ministry of HRD Govt. of India

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

Electoral Literacy Club


Electoral Literacy Clubs (ELC’s) are platforms to engage school students, college students and people in villages through interesting activities and hands-on experience to sensitise with their electoral rights. It is constituted at the behest of Election Commission of India (ECI) in all the educational institution with a motive to aware and ensure the participation of youth & future voters who are pillars of Indian democracy.
ELC’s are being set up in the colleges to promote electoral literacy in all age groups through engaging and interesting activities and hands-on experience but in an apolitical, neutral and non-partisan manner. ELC’s are especially being set up in colleges all across India targeting the new voters pursuing their graduation.


  • Electoral literacy club aims at strengthening the culture of electoral participation among young and future voters.
  • To educate the targeted populations about voter registration, electoral process and related matters through hands on experience;
  • To facilitate EVM and VVPAT familiarization and education about the robustness of EVM as well as the integrity of the electoral process using EVMs;
  • To help the target audience understand the value of their vote and exercise their right to franchise in a confident, comfortable and ethical manner;
  • To harness the potential of ELC members for carrying the electoral literacy in communities.
  • To develop a culture of electoral participation and maximize the informed and ethical voting and follow the principle ‘Every vote counts’ and ‘No voter to be Left Behind’.


The club will have students as its members by registering themselves at the beginning of the academic year. After registration, one is recognized as a member till the completion of her/his graduation course. Structure ELC may be named as per the name of the College/Institute and will be set up by the Nodal Officer.

Nodal Officer/Mentor

Teachers from the Political Science Department of the College will acts as the Nodal Officers for the ELC. They will also act as Mentors for the respective ELC.

Committee Members

Name Designation
Ms. Sonia Chaudhary (Assistant Professor - Political Science) Nodal Officer
Electoral Literacy Club
Electoral Literacy Club
Electoral Literacy Club
Electoral Literacy Club